Challenging collectivities

October 29 – 31, 2015 | Goethe-University | Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Call for Papers

In their political force as well as in the conditions of their constitution, collectivities entail essential ambivalences: processes of collectivization often carry totalizing tendencies with them or planish differences. At the same time, however, they possess emancipatory promise and transformative potential. Precisely because of its ambivalence, the concept of collectivity requires constant actualization and critical reflection. The ubiquity of collective phenomena warrants questioning well-established presuppositions and theories. To which constellations do we refer when we speak about collectivities? What are the forms of collectivity surrounding us today? Might concepts of collectivity and collective action-oriented political practice harbor diagnostic and emancipatory potential? Or does collectivity perforce imply serious problems and dangers?

The conference “Challenging Collectivities” raises such questions from an interdisciplinary perspective. Focusing on the role of collectivities, we want to theoretically reflect and empirically consider a wide range of contemporary phenomena. We are interested in developments such as contemporary social and political movements, the debate surrounding the so-called digital revolution associated with new forms of networking, the newly arising debate on the concept of life forms and their political or critical potentials, the relevance of a collective unconscious for the analysis of contemporary events, and discussions of global phenomena which invite us to reconsider collective formations – especially in regard to the concept of (maybe even non-human) agency. Thus, the conference engages questions concerning the conditions and forms of collective action, the social transformation that occurs in social and political movements in continuation of and/or against established models, and the manifestations of violence that occur in processes of collectivization

To approach these problems we suggest the following sub-topics. We welcome abstracts on these topics specifically or the general theme of the conference.

The Material of the Collective

The Collectivity of Democracy

Law and Collectivity

Organization and Collectivity

Collective Action and Collective Agency

Identity and Collectivity

Experience and Collectivity

The Collectivity of Life Forms

The Psyche of/and Collectivity

Economies of Collective Formations

The Space of Collectivity

Collectivity as Methodology

The Collectivity of Art

TECHNICAL DETAILS

This call for papers addresses graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, and junior faculty members. We explicitly invite you to also submit work-in-progress or cooperative works. Furthermore, we will gladly accept artistic contributions, lecture performances, and artistic endeavors.

The conference language is English and German, with at least 50% of the presentations held in English. Abstracts may be submitted in both languages.
Abstracts should not exceed 400 words. Please attach a biographical note on a separate paper. Deadline for submission of abstracts is March 1st 2015. Candidates will be informed by May 1st 2015 whether their paper has been accepted for the conference. Paper presentations should be 20 minutes. They will take place in parallel panels during the three days of the conference. The panels are planned as discussion forums, meaning that each presentation will be followed by 20 minutes for discussion. In order to guarantee participation for everybody, we kindly ask the German speaking participants to provide an English summary of their papers beforehand.

Please pay attention to the extended deadline: Abstracts can be submitted until the 5th of April.

Papers will be selected through a blind review process. Therefore, please do not include your name or other references to the author on the abstract and make sure to clearly state the title of your proposal in the e-mail and in the filename of the document. We will ensure that at least 50% of the presentations will be assigned to women. Should you be neither an English nor German native speaker, we kindly encourage you to note this on a separate paper, since we will try to pay special attention to that in terms of equality.

A limited amount of daily allowance will be made available by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) for graduate students coming as a group from countries of Eastern Europe, Africa, Asia, and Latin America. If interested, please inquire.

Participants in need of childcare during the conference time, please indicate. In cooperation with the equality office of Goethe-University efforts will be taken to facilitate childcare.

Challenging Collectivites – PDF

Flyer – PDF

Poster – PNG

CONTACT

Send your abstracts and questions to:
info@graduateconferencefrankfurt.de

Challenging collectivities

29. - 31. Oktober 2015 | Goethe-Universität | Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Call for Papers

Kollektivitäten weisen in ihrer politischen Wirkmächtigkeit und ihren Konstitutionsbedingungen grundlegende Ambivalenzen auf: Einerseits führen Kollektivierungsprozesse oft totalisierende und Differenzen nivellierende Tendenzen mit sich. Andererseits bergen sie jedoch auch emanzipatorische Versprechen und transformatorisches Potential. Gerade aufgrund dieser Ambivalenz bedarf Kollektivität als gesellschaftstheoretischer Grundbegriff einer ständigen Aktualisierung und kritischen Reflexion. Auch die Allgegenwärtigkeit kollektiver Phänomene und Ansprüche lädt dazu ein, etablierte Annahmen und Theorien zur Disposition zu stellen. Welche Konstellationen sind gemeint, wenn wir über Kollektivitäten sprechen? Welche Formen von Kollektivität umgeben uns (heute)? Birgt die Verwendung des Begriffs ebenso wie eine an kollektivem Handeln orientierte politische Praxis emanzipatorisches und diagnostisches Potential oder gehen damit vielmehr gravierende Probleme und Gefahren einher?

Diesen und ähnlichen Fragen nimmt sich die Konferenz „Challenging Collectivities“ aus interdisziplinärer Perspektive an. Es geht uns darum, Phänomene im Hinblick auf die Frage, welchen Stellenwert Kollektivitäten darin einnehmen, theoretisch einzuordnen und empirisch zu betrachten. Hierbei interessieren uns Entwicklungen, wie etwa neuere und neuste soziale und politische Bewegungen, die sog. Debatte um die digitale Revolution und die damit einhergehenden Vernetzungsformen, die erneut Aufwind erfahrende Beschäftigung mit Konzepten der Lebensformen und dessen politischen Potentialen, die Bedeutung eines kollektiven Unbewussten für gegenwartsbezogene Analysen, aber auch Auseinandersetzungen mit globalen Phänomenen, die eine Neuaushandlung kollektiver Formationen und (etwa auch nicht-menschlicher) Handlungsfähigkeit nahelegen. Dabei sollen unter anderem Fragen nach Bedingungen und Formen kollektiven Handelns, nach gesellschaftlicher Transformation im Anschluss an und/oder gegen etabliertere Modelle sozialer und politischer Bewegungen und nicht zuletzt nach der Rolle und den Erscheinungsformen von Gewalt bei solchen Prozessen Raum gegeben werden.

Um sich dieser Problematik systematisch anzunähern, werden folgende Unterthemen vorgeschlagen, wobei Abstracts sowohl spezifisch zu diesen Unterthemen als auch zu den allgemeinen Fragestellungen der Konferenz erwünscht sind:

Das Material der Kollektivität

Die Kollektivität der Demokratie

Recht und Kollektivität

Organisation und Kollektivität

Kollektives Handeln und kollektive Handlungsfähigkeit

Identität und Kollektivität

Erfahrung und Kollektivität

Kollektivität der Lebensformen

Psyche und/der Kollektivität

Ökonomien kollektiver Formationen

Der Raum der Kollektivität

Kollektivität als Methodologie

Die Kollektivität der Kunst

FORMALIA

Zielgruppe: Der Call for Papers richtet sich an Studierende, Promovierende und Promovierte Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen. Works-in-progress und künstlerische Projekte sind explizit erwünscht.

Konferenzsprache: Die Konferenz ist zweisprachig konzipiert, wobei mindestens 50% der Vorträge auf Englisch gehalten werden. Abstracts sind sowohl in deutscher als auch in englischer Sprache erwünscht. Es wird gebeten, die gewünschte Vortragssprache anzugeben. Die Abtracts sollen einen Umfang von 300-400 Wörter haben, müssen mit einer kleinen Bionotiz versehen sein und sind bis zum 01. März 2015 einzureichen. Die Vortragenden werden dann bis zum 01. Mai 2015 benachrichtigt. Die ausgearbeiteten Vorträge sollen 20 Minuten nicht überschreiten. Die Vorträge werden über 3 Konferenztage hinweg in parallel stattfindende Panels unterteilt. Damit allen die Teilnahme an den Diskussionen möglich ist, sind die deutschsprachig Vortragenden aufgefordert zudem eine kurze englische Zusammenfassung ihres Vortrags einzureichen. Jedem Vortrag wird eine 20minütige Diskussion folgen.

Auswahlverfahren: Die Abstracts werden in einem Blind-Review-Verfahren ausgewählt. Wir bitten entsprechend, die Angaben zur Person nicht dem Abstract hinzuzufügen, sondern als gesondertes Dokument mitzuschicken. Die Organisator*innen der Konferenz verpflichten sich zudem als Vortragende mindestens 50% Frauen einzuladen. Nicht zuletzt möchten wir Interessent*innen explizit dazu einladen, auf einem gesonderten Dokument anzumerken, falls sie keine deutschen oder englischen Muttersprachler*innen sind. Es wird versucht dem paritätisch Rechnung zu tragen.

Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten: Es wird versucht, einen Zuschuss zu Reise- und Unterkunftskosten vom Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) für die ausländischen Teilnehmenden zu beantragen. Bei Interesse, dies bitte in der Mail angeben.

Kinderbetreuung: In Kooperation mit dem Gleichstellungsbüro der Goethe-Universität besteht die Möglichkeit bei Bedarf Kinderbetreuung anzubieten.

Challenging Collectivities – PDF

KONTAKT

Abstracts und Fragen sind an folgende Mailadresse zu senden:
info@graduateconferencefrankfurt.de